top of page
Search
  • Caroline Lowe

A Matter of the Heart


A few days ago I was up getting ready for class, going about my normal routine, and praying about some things on my mind. To be honest, I can’t remember exactly what I was praying about but the thought entered my mind “my heart is a wild thing.” Kind of an odd thought to think, but it made sense to me. My heart is wild, it wanders and wants things of the flesh. Classic human nature, you know how it is.

I went on getting ready and the thought left me…until I came back into my room and saw my Bible. You see I keep my Bible on top of my dresser, usually open to wherever I had been reading last. I quickly noticed that it wasn’t on the same page. It was in Zephaniah. For a few moments I was fairly confused because quite frankly, I can’t tell you the last time I read over something in Zephaniah. Over the whole two pages my Bible was opened to, only one small section caught my attention. The only highlighted, notes-written-in section.

“This is the exultant city that lived securely, that said in her heart, “I am, and there is no one else.” What a desolation she has become, a lair for wild beasts! Everyone who passes by her hisses and shakes his fist. Woe to her who is rebellious and defiled, the oppressing city! She listens to no voice; she accepts no correction. She does not trust in the Lord; she does not draw near to her God.” (Zephaniah 2:15-3:2)

Hearts are a wild thing. They say “I am, and there is no one else.” They are rebellious. They listen to no voice and accept no correction. They do not trust in the Lord, and they do not draw near to God.

On their own anyways.

In our own strength, we can do nothing. We can’t even tame our wild, rebellious hearts. But to me, that’s becoming a comforting thought. The God who created everything in the heavens and on Earth, the same God that died and rose again, who made the ultimate sacrifice for us…He holds our hearts.

I like to be in control and I like to think I can manage things, even changing my heart to be more obedient to God and serving Him, but I can’t. Things don’t go well when we try to be in control.

“My son, give me your heart, and let your eyes observe my ways.” (Proverbs 23:26)

In my Bible there is a note by the word “observe” and it says “or delight in.” Whenever we give our hearts to the Lord, we will delight in His ways. Our lives are forever changed. No more wild, seemingly untamable hearts. We’re His, and He holds our hearts.

There is no greater comfort than Jesus. There is no sweeter victory. Nothing and no one compares.

There is one final verse I would like to share with y’all today:

“Those who look to him are radiant and their faces shall never be ashamed.” (Psalm 34:5)

Look to Him, give your all (heart included) to Him who paid it all.

bottom of page